Officers of the Society

President - Prof Adrian Lim

The president is the figurehead of the Society, representing BMUS at national and international level. He / She is responsible for promoting the development of the Society, for ensuring that changes decided by Council are implemented, and for ensuring the Society continues to represent the interests of its members.

President Elect - Dr Peter Cantin

The role of the president elect is to oversee the running of the Annual Scientific Meeting, liaison with the Scientific Programme Organising Committee and working with the Executive Officer on issues relating to budget and Manufacturer involvement.

Honorary Treasurer - Dr Piero Miloro

The Treasurer is responsible for the continuing financial health of the Society.  He / She is reponsible for delivering the Annual Financial Report and Accounts to the Annual General Meeting.

Development Officer - Mrs Catherine Kirkpatrick

The Development Officer is responsible for the continuing development of the Society, overseeing sub groups working on Professional Standards, Continuing Professional Development opportunities and the BMUS website.                              

Honorary Secretary - Dr Sian Curtis

The role of the Honorary Secretary is to keep the membership informed of activities relevant to the Society's charitable objectives. This includes giving regular reports on the discussions and decisions of BMUS Council within the BMUS Newsletter and a report to the Annual General Meeting. The Honorary Secretary ensures that activities such as meetings and elections are conducted in accordance with the Constitution.

Past Presidents of BMUS

  • 2021 - 2022 Mrs Pamela Parker
  • 2019-2020 Prof Rhodri Evans
  • 2017-2018 Dr Simon Freeman
  • 2015-2016 Dr Carmel Moran
  • 2012-2014 Professor Paul Sidhu
  • 2010-2012 Dr Colin Deane
  • 2008-2010 Mrs Julie Walton
  • 2006-2008 Dr Kevin Martin
  • 2004-2006 Dr Grant Baxter
  • 2002-2004 Mrs Jane Bates
  • 2000-2002 Dr David Pilling
  • 1998-2000 Dr Paul Allan
  • 1996-1998 Professor David Evans
  • 1994-1996 Dr Henry Irving
  • 1992-1994 Dr Tony Evans
  • 1990-1992 Dr Hylton Meire
  • 1988-1990 Dr Tony Whittingham
  • 1986-1988 Dr P Davies
  • 1984-1986 Dr Norman McDicken
  • 1982-1984 Dr P Morley
  • 1980-1982 Mr A J Hall
  • 1978-1980 Dr E Barnett
  • 1977-1978 Dr C R Hill